Board of Education Committees

  • In accordance with district policy there are three standing committees of the Columbia Board of Education: Finance Committee, Long-range Facilities Planning Committee, and Policy Committee.

    The Board of Education president appoints three Board of Education members to each committee, with one Board member designated as chair of the committee, and the superintendent appoints two administrators to each committee.

    Each committee also appoints additional members who have expertise in the committee subject or the desire to serve. These community members are appointed in such a way that at least 20 percent of the additional membership on each committee is composed of individuals who are not employees of the school district. 

    Applications for the 23-24 school year are now open and will be accepted through 11:59 p.m. on August 11.  The committee information and meeting dates are linked below. 

    Apply to serve on a committee